Disposition of Cases of Minor Offences.—The disposition of juveniles brought to court for minor offences is proportionately the same as that for major offences. In 1948, more than one-half of these juveniles were reprimanded, allowed to go home or the final disposition of their cases was suspended; 29 p.c. were fined and 19 p.c. committed to training schools.

12.—Disposition of Delinquents Convicted of Minor Offences, with Percentages of Total Minor Offences, Years Ended Sept. 30, 1939-48

Norg.-Figures for the years 1922-36 are given at p. 262 of the 1947 Year Book and for 1937-38 at p. 295 of the 1948-49 edition.

Year	Reprimanded and Allowed to Go Under Supervision		Detained Indefinitely		Sent to Training School		Fined or Paid Damage		Final Disposition Suspended	
_	No.	p.c.	No.	p.c.	No.	p.c.	No.	p.c.	No.	p.c.
1939	631	24.3	37	1.4	345	13.3	380	14.6	1,202	46.4
940	1,340	42.8	52	1.7	409	13.0	542	17.3	790	25-2
941 942	2,188 1.085	53·3 22·4	31 22	0·8 0·5	512 607	$12.5 \\ 12.6$	$986 \\ 1.448$	$24.0 \\ 29.9$	$389 \\ 1,676$	9·4 34·6
943	1,056	27.8	9	0.2	495	13.0	961	25.3	1,281	33.7
944	1.035	30.5	9	0.3	538	15.9	1,002	29.6	804	23.7
945	1,117	35.4	11	0.4	595	18.9	853	$27 \cdot 1$	575	18.2
946	858	29.5	5	$0 \cdot 2$	460	15.8	647	22-3	937	$32 \cdot 2$
947	856	29.9	6	$0 \cdot 2$	445	15.5	860	30.1	695	24.3
948	744	29.0	9	0.4	492	$19 \cdot 2$	749	$29 \cdot 2$	570	$22 \cdot 2$

PART IV.—POLICE FORCES*

The Police Forces operating in Canada are organized under three groups: (1) the Federal Force, which is the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and whose operations cover a very wide field in addition to purely police work; (2) the Provincial Police Forces—the Provinces of Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia have organized their own Provincial Forces, but the other provinces engage the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police to perform parallel functions within their boundaries; (3) the Municipal Police—every city of reasonable size employs its own police organization which is paid for by the local taxpayers and which attends to purely police matters within the borders of the municipality concerned.

The organizations under these three headings are described in turn below.

Section 1.-- The Royal Canadian Mounted Policet

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is a Civil Force maintained by the Federal Government. It was organized in 1873 as the North West Mounted Police, whose duties were confined to what was then known as the North West Territories. By 1904, the work of the Force received signal recognition when the prefix "Royal" was bestowed upon it by King Edward VII. In 1905, when Alberta and Saskatchewan were constituted Provinces, an arrangement was made whereby the Force continued to discharge its duties as formerly, each province making a contribution towards defraying the cost. This was continued until 1917.

^{*}The material under this heading has been obtained through the courtesy of Commissioner S. T. Wood, C.M.G., of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. Section 2, dealing with Provincial Police Forces, was submitted to Commissioner Wood by Geo. A. Shea, O.B.E., Secretary-Treasurer, Chief Constables' Association of Canada.

[†] Since this material was submitted, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police took over the duties of the former British Columbia Provincial Police on Aug. 15, 1950.